MIZNO

>

拓展体育之可能性

Inspiring People, Invigorating Society, through Sports

美津浓能藉由体育做出什么贡献?运动员必须扮演什么样的角色?

水野明人总裁与索契冬奥会奖牌得主葛西纪明相聚,探讨了奥运、环境以及体育推广。

Q.必胜的决心

水野明人 (AM):
祝贺您在索契冬奥会赢得奖牌。我本人也亲自去观看了比赛,所以也见证了运动员创造的奇迹,并受到很多启发,从而知道体育是多么不可思议。从1992年的阿尔贝维尔冬奥会至今,您已经七次出现在冬奥会的竞技场上,对此是否感慨良多呢?

葛西纪明(NK):
谢谢您。毫无疑问,贵公司的支持为我获得两块奖牌 ----一块团体铜牌和一块个人银牌 ---- 给予了很大的帮助。奥运会四年才举办一次,而且(作为跳台滑雪运动员,译者注),一人只能跳两次,承受的压力是其它任何赛事无可比拟的。尽管如此,我还是下定决心继续努力,正是这种决心让我取得了最终的成功。

Q.拿出最好的成绩

AM:
奥运会是运动员们展现拼搏精神的最典型赛事,作为体育器材及运动服装供应商的美津浓也把这一赛事视为不可多得的机会。我们早在1924年的巴黎奥运会上就开始为日本运动员提供体育器材和运动服装,迄今为止快90年了。当时提供的产品就是撑杆跳用的撑杆等产品。顶尖的运动员使用了我们的器材和体育服装,使我们得以收集各种信息,并不断改进我们产品的性能,即便只改进一小部分。我们希望这种持续的改进能够帮助运动员在奥运会上拿出最好的成绩。事实上,您本人在索契冬奥会上使用的连身服就是我们提供的。

NK:
没错。实际上,所有滑雪运动员身穿的连身服材质都一样,区别在于连身服各个部分的剪裁方法。运动员必须尝试各种不同方式才能找到最合身的剪裁。同时,比赛规则也经常修改,所以运动员也必须不断修改自己的比赛服。大约在2013年年初,我终于找到一款让我穿上后感觉正好的比赛服。每一年,美津浓至少为我提供十套比赛服,因此我热切希望用好成绩来回报你们。

Q.技术革新源于严格要求

AM:
体育造诣取决于身体素质和技术,但是我们常常在思考,是否体育器材和体育服装也能够在某种程度上为最终成绩出一份力,而作为制造商,我们必须尽力而为。因此我们总是希望运动员能把他们的要求告诉我们。如果运动员找到我们,询问"可以这样做吗?"之类的问题,那么这些问题常常蕴含着技术创新的火花。

NK:
跳台滑雪运动中,控制体重是运动员的关键。我们必须遵守连身服和滑雪板长度等方面的明确规定。即使你的体重只减少了那么一丁点,你的比赛服也可能变形扭曲,从而违反比赛规定。所以我请美津浓派遣一名员工陪我到索契,以便在赛前及时做出细微调整。当我完成试跳之后,还有一名美津浓员工在着陆终点等着我。如此慷慨的支持,让我深受感动。

Q.关心环境成为企业和个人的第二天性

AM:
我感觉索契奥运会上好像没什么雪。我猜想这肯定对冬季运动项目产生严重影响,尤其是跳台滑雪这种在户外自然环境中开展的项目。您曾经在全球不同国家和地区参加比赛,是不是也感觉近年来下的雪也越来越少了?

NK:
这次索契根本没下雪,所有雪基本上都是人造的。我注意到现在下的雪一年比一年少。尤其今年这个冬季,欧洲几乎没有下雪。近年来的这一变化导致现在的跳台滑雪赛道都采用冰块制成,并填充人造雪。其实,现在除了札幌,没有多少地方能让人们在自然雪地上滑雪。就是这么回事。

AM:
气候变化是个严峻的问题,为了解决这一问题,企业需要承担自己的责任。过去,停下脚步思考环境问题对于企业来说似乎是另类行为。然而现在,关心环境成为了第二天性。美津浓推出"Crew 21"环保活动已经20多年了。如今我们100%的新产品都是环境友好型。同时,我们还组织了美津浓独有的活动。在"美津浓胜利实验室"(MIZUNO Victory Clinics)等运动比赛中,我们让现役或退役的顶尖运动员谈论环境问题。由于这些运动员有着巨大影响力,是孩子们崇拜的偶像,所以孩子们也会认真听取他们的意见。

NK:
跳台滑雪是在山坡上进行的,这项运动本身尽可能地保护环境。近年来,越来越多人请我参加座谈,因此我希望将来能利用这些机会,积极地跟大家分享我个人在这方面的经验。

Q.鼓励人们拥有希望与梦想

AM:
日本人口老龄化在加剧,出生率也在减少,但是如果从另一个角度看,这也意味着健康人群日益壮大。体育是保持身心健康的一种有效方式。为了让人们能够长期坚持体育运动,我们组织了美津浓独有的活动,例如"美津浓胜利实验室"(MIZUNO Victory Clinics),努力创造条件和机会,让更多人来参与体育运动。作为身经百战的老运动员,要想长期坚持运动,您认为有哪些重要因素?

NK:
在运动领域取得成绩,不仅仅需要能力和艰苦努力,坚持不懈、永不放弃同样非常重要。所以一定要保持自己的希望和梦想。我在索契冬奥会上获得奖牌,就生动地证明了这一点。我希望能够把梦想的重要性告诉一代又一代的少年儿童。将来,如果孩子们受到我的启发,朝着梦想勇敢迈进,我将深感欣慰。

AM:
自从美津浓成立以来,我们一直致力于推广体育运动,而不是局限于产品销售。正因为如此,我们才得以成为一家盈利的公司。东京现在已经获得2020年冬奥会和残奥会主办权,日本全国为此欢心鼓舞,体育背后的商机势不可挡。在美津浓,我们希望充分利用这一机遇,支持体育事业,将体育运动发展为我们文化的一部分。

  • 水野明人(美津浓公司总裁)
    1974年生于静冈县。
    1949年出生于日本关西兵库县,
    毕业于关西学院大学商学院,
    1975年加入美津浓公司。
    2006年被任命为美津浓公司总裁。
  • 葛西纪明(土屋住宅滑雪俱乐部
    教练兼滑雪运动员)
    1972年出生于北海道,
    现担任土屋住宅滑雪俱乐部教练兼滑雪运动员。
    19岁首次参加冬奥会(阿尔贝维尔冬奥会),
    在最近一次的索契冬奥会上完成人生第七次奥运比赛,并赢得大山跳台滑雪比赛的个人银牌和团体铜牌。

MIZNO

>

Broadening the Possibilities of Sport

Inspiring People, Invigorating Society, through Sports

What can MIZUNO contribute through sport? What role do athletes have to play?

President Akihito Mizuno met Noriaki Kasai, medallist from the Winter Olympics in Sochi. They talked about the Olympics, the environment and promoting sport.

Q.A medal-winning sense of determination

Akihito Mizuno (AM):
Congratulations on winning your medals at the Winter Olympics in Sochi. I went to the games myself, so I was able to share in the inspiration and wonder of the athletes' performances. It reminded me just how amazing sport can be. Starting with the Albertville Olympics in 1992, this was your seventh appearance at the Winter Olympics. That must have been very emotional for you.

Noriaki Kasai (NK):
Thank you. Your support no doubt helped me to win my two medals, including a team bronze as well as my individual silver. The Olympics are only once every four years, and you only get two jumps, so you are under pressure unlike anything at other events. Nonetheless, I was determined to keep pushing through, and that helped me to achieve the end result.

Q.Bringing out the very best performance

AM:
The Olympics are a symbolic sporting event that athletes work towards as their goal. Seeing that is a wonderful opportunity for MIZUNO too, as a supplier of equipment and sportswear. We first supplied Japanese athletes with equipment and sportswear for the Paris Olympics back in 1924, some 90 years ago now. We provided items such as the poles for the pole vault team. Getting top athletes to use our equipment and sportswear enables us to gather various types of information, so that we can keep on improving the performance of our products, even if it's just a fraction. Our hope is that those continued improvements might help to bring out the very best performance at the Olympics. In fact, we provided the jumpsuit you yourself used at the Sochi Olympics.

NK:
That's right. Actually, all skiers wear jumpsuits made from the same material, so the difference stems from how the individual parts are cut. You've got to try various different approaches to find the cut that best fits your body. At the same time however, the rules are revised on a regular basis, so you've got to keep on modifying your suit too. It was around the start of the year during the 2013 season that I finally found a suit that felt just right. MIZUNO provides me with at least ten suits every year, so I am always eager to repay that hard work with good results.

Q.Technical innovation stemming from strict requirements

AM:
Sporting prowess depends on physical strength and technique, but we are constantly thinking that, if equipment and sportswear can help in any way and contribute to the end result, then we have to do our level best as a manufacturer. That's why we always want athletes to tell us their requirements. When athletes come to us and ask, "would this be possible?", questions like that often contain a hidden a spark for technical innovation.

NK:
With ski jumping, it's essential to control your body weight. We have to comply with precise regulations in areas such as ski length and jumpsuits. If you lose even a little bit of weight, your suit could get twisted in such a way that violates the rules. That's why I had a member of staff from MIZUNO accompany me to Sochi, so that they could make minor adjustments immediately before the event. When I finished my practice jumps, I had a member of staff waiting for me at the bottom of the run. I was impressed to receive such generous support.

Q.Caring for the environment as second nature, for companies and individuals

AM:
I got the impression that there wasn't much snow at the Sochi Olympics. I assume that must have a serious impact on winter sports, especially ski jumping as you're in an outdoor natural environment. Having competed in different countries and regions all over the world, do you feel that we are getting less snow these days?

NK:
There was no snow at all in Sochi. Virtually all the snow was artificial. Every year I notice that there is less and less snow. This season in particular, there was very little snow in Europe. Because of recent changes, the rails on ski jumps are now made from ice and then packed with artificial snow. In fact, there aren't many places where you can ski on natural snow anymore, apart from Sapporo. That's how little snow we are getting.

AM:
Climate change is a serious issue that companies need to do their bit to tackle too. In the past, it seemed like you were doing something special if you stopped to think about the environment. These days however, caring for the environment is second nature. It's been 20 years since we launched our "Crew 21" environmental conservation activities here at MIZUNO. 100% of our new products are now environmentally friendly. We also organize activities that are unique to MIZUNO. As part of sporting events such as MIZUNO Victory Clinics for instance, we get top athletes, both current and former, to talk about the environment. Children tend to listen intently because the athletes are people they really look up to. They have a tremendous influence.

NK:
Ski jumps are built into the slopes of mountains, so I know the sport does everything possible to look after the environment. Recently, I have been receiving more and more requests to give talks, so I hope to use such opportunities to actively share what I have learnt from my own experiences in the future.

Q.Encouraging people to have hopes and dreams

AM:
Japan may have an aging population and a dwindling birth rate, but if you look at it from a different angle, that means that the number of healthy people is increasing. Sport is an effective way to maintain a healthy body and mind. To enable people to enjoy sport on a more long-term basis, we organize activities that are unique to MIZUNO, such as our MIZUNO Victory Clinics, in an effort to provide facilities and opportunities for people to get more involved in sport. Having been competing for such a long time, what would you say is important in order to keep enjoying sport over the long term?

NK:
It takes more than just ability and hard work to achieve results in the sporting arena. It's also crucial to keep going for as long as possible without giving up. That's why it's so important to keep your hopes and dreams alive. The fact that I won medals at the Winter Olympics in Sochi is living proof of just how important that is. I hope I can continue to convey the importance of having dreams to future generations of children too. I would love to see lots of children being inspired to step up in the future.

AM:
Ever since MIZUNO was established, we have been committed to promoting sport, rather than just selling products. We believe that, the more people play sports, the larger the market becomes. That's how we make a profit as a company. Now that Tokyo has been selected to host the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games, there is growing excitement and momentum behind sport throughout Japan. Here at MIZUNO, we want to make the most of this opportunity to support sport and establish it as part of our culture.

  • Akihito Mizuno (President, MIZUNO Corporation)
    Born in Hyogo prefecture in 1949, Akihito Mizuno graduated from the Kwansei Gakuin University School of Business Administration and joined MIZUNO Corporation in 1975. He was appointed President in June 2006.
  • Noriaki Kasai (Coach and skier, Tsuchiya Home Ski Club)
    Born in Hokkaido in 1972, Noriaki Kasai is coach and a skier at Tsuchiya Home Ski Club. Since entering his first Winter Olympics in Albertville at the age of 19, he entered his seventh Winter Olympics at the most recent games in Sochi, where he won a silver medal in the individual large hill event and a bronze in the team event.